First NaBloMoPo Post!

Yep, it’s November 1st! My first NaBloMoPo post! So far, I don’t have a theme, but maybe I’ll develop one in the next few days. I guess I first ought to catch up with the goings-on of the last few days!

The Boston Red Sox won the World Series!! I’ve followed and loved the Sox since I was a child – no bandwagoner here. It was a true thrill to witness it not just once in a lifetime (that would be 2004), but twice (so far!). I wish my father were here to enjoy this. Even though I was not emotionally invested in a sweep, I am glad it did end in four games, as I’m not sure I could have withstood staying up so late another night! Seriously, the games start so late, and last so long. Only the strong (and dedicated) fans survive! I read somewhere that the commercials only add about 10 minutes to the total playing time. It claimed that the length of games is in the long at-bats we see today. Batters have to step out of the box after every pitch to readjust their gloves, pull at their shirts, hike up their pants, take a few swings, bang on their cleats. Takes forever. And the fact that endless foul balls can keep a batter up indefinitely. Baseball might want to consider taking a look at that!

Just a few rants:

  • Scott Boras announcing Alex Rodriguez will opt out of his contract with the Yankees during Game 4! WTF!?!
  • Tek – what have you done with that ball? Don’t go all Mientkiewicz on me!

Actually, that’s it – only two! I also want to congratulate the Colorado Rockies for a fantastic season and for their performance in the Series. They have a bright future!

Leave a Reply

