Parenting by the Skin of my Ears

Rainy Saturday here in New England, thanks to Hurricane Noel.

It’s days like this that make me realize how hard it is to be a single parent.

But first, I guess I ought to share the good stuff. Today, unprompted by me, K and B played really nicely together. All day. Well, close enough. Anyone with two or more children knows what a rare and wonderful event this can be. And it was – really. But due to the ages of my kids (6 and 3), their need to be within touching distance of me at all times, not to mention the acoustics of my house (ugh), it meant no escape from their little girl, high-pitched voices. By noontime I was ready to scrape my ears right off my head. By dinnertime I actually opened a bottle of wine (usually reserved for after their bedtime!).

They are in bed now, I’m blogging and catching up on DVR’d shows. Oh, and having my third glass of wine. So shoot me – I’m not driving tonight and I don’t have to work tomorrow. Mostly I am enjoying the peace.  But days like this I realize how much easier it would be to have someone not only to be a diversion for the kids, but someone for me to share inside jokes with, to make it all less dour. There are definitely pluses and minuses to parenting with a partner – today I could have used one.

Daylight Savings means we’ll be starting this all over, in the dark, tomorrow. Can’t hardly wait.

Leave a Reply

