Letter to Me

I’m a big country music fan, and Brad Paisley is one of my favorite artists (plus he’s really cute!). He has a new song on the airwaves right now that really speaks to me. I can’t even explain it – but I tear up everytime I hear it. You can click here to read the lyrics, but it’s basically a grown man writing a letter to himself at 17 about the things he’s learned and a reassurance that things turned out just fine. It’s a cool concept – and I wondered what kind of letter I might write to my 17-year-old-self…

Dear Me,

I’m writing to you from nearly 30 years in the future. You haven’t even lived that long yet and I know it feels like an impossible time. It’ll go faster than you think.

Cherish your sister – a tragedy is around the corner and she won’t be around much longer – soak her up while you can.

That boy you think is perfect? He’s not worth the energy you’ve put into him. Let him go. You’ll love and be loved in the future in ways you can’t even imagine right now.

You’re not going to get into the college of your choice. It’s OK. But you don’t have to settle for the state school either. I think you got afraid of being outclassed and chose the easy way. You can do anything.

Travel, girl! You were raised by conventional parents, and learned a lot of good values from them. But forget about buying the house at 23 – fly around the world! Twice! Learn a language, stretch your boundaries. You don’t have to take the safe route all the time.

Stay with dad. Till the end. You’ll be exhausted and not think you can take it anymore, but it’ll only be another few hours. You won’t regret it.

2 responses to “Letter to Me

  1. That’s a great letter and a great idea. I may write one too, though posting it may reveal more than I want my in-laws to know.

  2. I love Brad Paisley too! Not only is he cute, but his songs are often funny (a trait I love in music 🙂 and he’s smart, with a master’s degree.

    Marcia

Leave a Reply

