8 Things – or a supplement to my unfinished 100 Things

Janet over at Adventures in the 32-Aker Wood tagged me for this meme. It took me a few days to complete, but here goes!

8 Things I’m passionate about:

1. My children…what can I say? They are my heart. Not to go all cliché on you, but I’d do anything for them. They drive me crazy, but can’t imagine life without them.

2. Chocolate… a lifelong passion that I’m getting more versed in – I used to allow my sister to have all the semi-sweet chips when we made chocolate chip cookies, but now those are almost too sweet for straight eating. The darker the better!

3. Writing….but I must admit I’m more of a wannabe than I’d like.

4. Reading. ..I love to read: books, magazines, blogs, cereal boxes, whatever. Unfortunately I don’t have the time or mental energy for books in the same way I did before kids, but I’m consoling myself with all the great books that are being written RIGHT NOW that I’ll be able to turn to when I have time again.

5. Jackets….it’s only been recently that I’ve realized I own a lot of jackets. Winter jackets, fall jackets, spring jackets, fleece jackets, windbreaker jackets, pullover jackets, zip-up jackets….I’m not sure what the attraction is, really, but I am apparently passionate about them.

6. Travel…..OK, so this is really more in theory than practice right now. But I love the prospect of a trip, near or far, and exploring new places.

7. Wine….another relatively new passion that I’m learning a bit more about. When I lived in upstate New York I went on a few wine tours in the Finger Lakes Wine Trail and loved learning about and tasting different wines.

8. TV….TV has replaced reading in my current life. I have several shows I’m really passionate about right now (and am totally bummed about the WGA strike, even though I am fully in support of the writers): Lost, Dirty Sexy Money, Grey’s Anatomy, Pushing Daisies, Heroes, Ugly Betty, The Office…I actually read message boards and listen to podcasts on some of these shows. OK, maybe I’m just a TV geek then.

8 Things I want to do before I die [isn’t this the premise of the new movie, “The Bucket List”?]:

1. Make money from writing. Doesn’t have to be a lot. Just compensation of some kind.

2. Take my girls back to China. K went back with me when I adopted B in 2006, but she was only 5 and didn’t fully appreciate the experience. Trying to decide on the optimum age to take them both back together. Maybe when they are 8 and 11. Even though I told B’s foster family I would consider bringing her in 2009, I now think that might be too early. We’ll see.

3. Have grandchildren…yikes, I am 38 years older than K and 41 years older than B. I don’t want them to be parents at a young age, but it would be nice to enjoy young children from the perspective of the grandparent generation. But I will happily pass if it means either of them having children when they are unprepared.

4. Find true love. I was married, very briefly, and it was not a happy marriage, even at the beginning. While I’m not sure I want to be married again (I’m still having trouble seeing the benefit for women), I do want to have a special man in my life, permanently.

5. Travel around the world….maybe a cruise? I’ve really seen so little.

6. Run another marathon. I ran one for charity in 2000 – it was an awesome experience. I don’t have the time to train for it now while my kids are young, but when they are a bit older I’d love to do it again.

7. Have children who have grown into happy, loving, adults who are content with who they have become.

8. Make peace with food….I have always had “issues” with food, although I not considered overweight. It’s more my relationship with food. I’ve made progress, but still have far to go.

8 Things I say often:

1. Let’s go!….said to children multiple times a day
2. Cool … sometimes said as a sort of filler word, when I’m not sure what else to say….maybe I’m a little old for that?
3. Hands off! ….this is my newest saying – said mostly to B who cannot keep her hands to herself
4. Good night, sweet dreams, I love you….said each night to my girls at bedtime (but I bet you figured that part out)
5. Hey…..this is “said” in my daily instant message chats at work to get the attention of a co-worker (any co-worker). But it goes both ways, so it’s OK.
6. What?!?!……and I’m really ashamed of the annoyed tone I very often say this in!
7. In a minute…said to kids quite often when I’m right in the middle of something else
8. Talk to you later….this is my version of “goodbye”, usually said to close a phone conversation

8 books I’ve read recently [recently means, in recent memory, since I’m not doing as much of this as I’d like these days.]

1. Scream Free Parenting, by Hal Edward Runkel – a book with a great premise. As always, the hard part is putting it all into practice.

2. Parenting Beyond Belief, edited by Dale McGowan – a book of essays about raising your children without religion. While I did enjoy it, it didn’t go as far as I would have liked.

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, by J.K. Rowling. The final book in the series. I had intended to re-read the first six before tackling this one, alas, it did not happen. Still enjoyed it though!

4. The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls. OK, this one technically shouldn’t qualify as “recent”, but I gave two copies as Christmas gifts this year, so that tells you how much I thought of it. And that’s recent!

5. The Daring Book for Girls, by Andrea J. Buchanan and Miriam Peskowitz. I only just bought this one so haven’t technically “read” it yet, but it’s chock full of things girls should learn to do or experience in their childhoods. There is a similar book for boys, called The Dangerous Book for Boys, though I understand both boys and girls would probably enjoy doing the activities in both books.

6. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini. OK, I haven’t read this one. Don’t even have it on a shelf. But it just came highly recommended from a friend, so it’s on the “list”.

7. A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseini. Ditto #6

8. The entire June B. Jones series, most of the Magic Treehouse series, various Robert Munsch stories and a bazillion other childrens books

8 Songs I can listen to over and over:

1. Paradise by the Dashboard Light, by Meatloaf

2. Don’t Breathe, by Brad Paisley

3. You’re the One That I Want, by John Travolta and Olivia Newton John

4. The Dance, by Garth Brooks

5. House at Pooh Corner, by Loggins and Messina

6. Brown Eyed Girl, by Van Morrison

7. River of Dreams, by Billy Joel

8. Steamroller (the live version), by James Taylor.

8 things that attract me to my best friends:

1. Great sense of humor, including the ability to laugh at themselves, and to make me laugh at myself

2. Willing to take a chance (without being reckless!)

3. Kind

4. Generous

5. Fun loving

6. Loves, or at least tolerates, my kids!

7. Enjoys a glass of wine now and then (or other spirit!)

8. A sense of adventure

8 People who should TOTALLY do this meme [since I don’t even have 8 readers, I’m tagging you if you’re reading this and haven’t done it yet! Make sure you let me know via a comment that you’re doing it so I can read you]:

2 responses to “8 Things – or a supplement to my unfinished 100 Things

  1. I could have done your song list too! I’ll have to try the scream free parenting book. I’ve seen it mentioned elsewhere as well.

  2. I will do this on my Drowning in Laundry BLog, I have nothing else to talk about this week on there.

    http://www.drowninginlaundry.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

