M – Music

I had a hard time thinking of a worthy “M” topic for today!

Some topics that didn’t make the cut: Mom (mothering, motherhood), My Day, Marriage…..

So, on to music. And ya know what, I’m not sure I have that much to say about it that will interest very many people!

My taste in music is pretty mainstream. As a kid I listened to a steady diet of Billy Joel, Steve Miller Band, Simon & Garfunkel, Air Supply (did I really just admit that?), James Taylor and ABBA. And I still like most of those! When I listen to the radio these days it’s always a country music station. I fell in love with country music at 2 am….let me back up…

In 1997-98 I worked second shift. I had my mornings to myself (this was waaaay pre-children), and I became a huge Rosie O’Donnell fan. Did I really just admit that? Hey, back then she was cool and funny. Anyhoo, one day she had Garth Brooks on. I’d never heard of him, but I loved the interviews on the show. She asked him his three favorite songs (of his) and he said, “The Dance, The Dance and The Dance”. I was intrigued – a song that beloved had to be good. So I went out and bought a Garth Brooks greatest hits CD. I couldn’t get into it. Oh well.

Working late got me home from work anywhere between 12:30 and 2 am. Sometimes I would watch TV for awhile to relax before going to sleep. One night as I was flipping through channels I caught a VH-1 or E show, and again, Garth Brooks made an appearance. He sang his song “Unanswered Prayers” and I was in tears before it ended. He also spoke about how much he admired James Taylor and how big an influence JT had been on his music, and the show even had JT calling in as a surprise to Garth! It was very cool! I immediately took out my Greatest Hits CD (at 2 in the morning), the one I couldn’t get into, and turned tingly when I saw that “Unanswered Prayers” was on it. I listened to the whole thing that night. I was into it. Over the next few months I bought every CD put out by Garth, found a local country station and haven’t looked back. Today my favorite artists include Brad Paisley, Phil Vassar, Trisha Yearwood (now married to Garth!), Martina McBride, Sugarland and probably a few more that I’m too tired to think of right now.

So you can keep your edgy, alterna-stuff. I love music where I can understand the lyrics that tell a story. The imagery in country music is what keeps it fresh and interesting to me.

I guess i had more to say than I thought!

Leave a Reply

