Q – Quite frustrated

Every night when I pick the girls up at the end of the day I get the same question: “What’s for dinner?” And you would think by now, six years into parenting, that I would be better at thinking about this ahead of time. But I’m not. Most nights we get home and I completely wing it. We are not above cereal or peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for dinner. But I still get the question every night, and every night it irritates me.

Sometimes, though, I do think ahead! Rarely I will have defrosted something, or have some other quick yet tasty meal in mind. A few weeks ago a friend and I went to one of those make-ahead meal places – I came home withe 8 different meals — well, really 4 different meals, times 2. Anyway, tonight we had one of them: Citrus glazed tilapia. My kids both like fish, and citrus, and it could not have been easier to make. I made side dishes of brown rice from Trader Joe’s and a bag of Birds Eye Steamfresh Broccoli and Cauliflower (both also big hits in our house). I was really looking forward to dinner.

Let me first say, it was delicious. Every bite of everything was excellent. Restaurants charge good money for the meal I served my children tonight. “I don’t like it.” “Isn’t there any more rice?” “I’m not that hungry.”

I get this every stinking time I make an effort at a meal. And I’m more than quite frustrated, I’m freaking frustrated!

Leave a Reply

