The ABC’s of Me

I got this one from Janet, who got it from someplace, who got it from someplace….and on and on. You know how these Internet things work!

It’s long, it was fun to do. Feel free to steal it for yourself – if you do, please comment so I can go check you out too. It’s fun to learn interesting things about people you didn’t know much about to begin with!

Accent: What accent? I don’t have one. Really. Despite growing up 30 miles from Boston, I do pronounce my R’s.

Bra size: 36 A or B. Mostly B, I guess. And ya know what? I have never wished for bigger ones. I like going braless as often as it is seemly to do so.

Chore I hate: Cleaning the bathroom – toilets to be more specific. Although maybe it’s showers now. But bathrooms for sure.

Dad’s name: Brian. Nothing too exciting there.

Essential make-up: Chapstick. I am practically addicted to the stuff. I keep a tube in my desk at home, my desk at work, my kitchen, my nightstand, and my keychain. Yes, I have a special “leash” (that I bought in a store – WalMart – 6-7 years ago that could use replacing but I’ve never seen it sold again) that holds a tube of chapstick. Vanilla Mint is my favorite flavor. But at my age I really should consider adding to my repertoire – I just never learned.

Favorite perfume: Scents actually make me sneeze, so I don’t wear any. However, I do like the teenage scent Love’s Baby Soft, and anything vanilla.

Gold or Silver
: In my younger days it was gold, these days, silver seems to win out.

Hometown: New England.

Interesting fact: I am distantly related to both Julia Child and Deke Slayton (one of the original astronauts).

Job title: Hmmmm. My official job title is so generic as to be meaningless. I usually say Project Manager, since people basically understand what that means.

Kids: two daughters, ages 4 and 7, both of whom I adopted.

Living arrangements: I’m a single mom living with my 2 girls in a single family home in a densely populated neighborhood in New England. No pets, but I’m getting heavy pressure from the kiddos.

Mom’s Birthplace: Boston, MA. How is this relevant to anything interesting about me, me, me?

Number of apples eaten in last week: 1

Overnight hospital stays: One. I was camping with my family at age 14 and had stomach pains – went to the hospital and they couldn’t find anything wrong, so the docs wanted to do exploratory surgery on me. By then (2-3 days later) I was feeling much better and convinced my mother of that, and she signed me out of the hospital against medical advice. Thirty plus years later and no lingering affects.

Phobia: I’m not very superstitious, and my kids often say in awe “You’re not scared of anything.” I am, but not the kinds of things I’m about to share with them (fear of dying while they are young, getting in a car accident, losing my job, stuff like that). It’s all context – spiders and snakes don’t bother me, unless they’re someplace they’re not supposed to be.

Question you ask yourself a lot: What was I going to do again? I swear, my brain is mush.

Religious affiliation: None. I grew up generic protestant, but don’t really buy into the organized religion thing.

Siblings: a younger sister, who died of cancer when she was 17 (I was 20). I also have two living step-sisters (a third died in a car accident shortly after my sister’s death), but I don’t think of them as siblings, so much. Which begs the question, why did I just mention them?

Time I wake up: Too early!! Belle is my alarm clock – I don’t even set one anymore. She just doesn’t need sleep. So we’re up most days between 6 and 6:30, plenty of time to get us where we need to go most of the time.

Unnatural hair color
: Oh, my natural color was beautiful – I even appreciated it when I had it! Then I started going grey, which started awfully young. I colored using a bottle for the first time around age 34 and haven’t stopped. I’ve just started having it done professionally, but I’m not sure it’s coming out any better than when I did it on my own, except I need highlights to make it more natural-looking, and that is VERY difficult to do on my own (I have done it – it takes forever and is a real arm workout). So I’m sort of a medium brown with caramel highlights now, but was medium dark brown with reddish highlights when I was natural.

Vegetable I refuse to eat: Brussel sprouts. Seriously – who likes these??

Worst habit: I’m inherently lazy. Oh, and eating too much junk food.

X-rays: Nothing unusual: Dental x-rays. Mammograms. I had an MRI 2 years ago after having a dirt bike accident where I tore my ACL in my right knee (just like a professional athlete!). I’m still hoping to avoid surgery on that – I still feel it, but I’m back to doing most of my usual activities – running, etc. Just can’t kneel and put weight on it anymore.

Yummy food I make: Guacamole.

Zodiac sign: Aries. Also, Year of the Rabbit.

Advertisements

2 responses to “The ABC’s of Me

  1. As long as they are baby Brussels sprouts and are swimming in butter, I like Brussels sprouts! But I still can’t bring myself to eat lima beans or beets.

  2. Cool list – thanks for doing it! I wondered about the relevance of a couple of them myself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s