Page 123

A meme! A meme! And this time I didn’t have to take it upon myself, but I was specifically tagged for this meme! By someone who actually reads my blog! I feel so popular! Like Steve Martin in “The Jerk” (“The new phone book is here, the new phone book is here”, in case anyone missed the reference).

Thanks Janet!

The rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book.

2. Open to page 123

3. Find the fifth sentence.

4. Post the next three sentences.

5. Tag five people, and acknowledge who tagged you.

OK, I can do the first four, but I will not be performing Rule #5, part a (part b is already done). But hey, if you’re reading this and would like to participate, please consider yourself tagged. And I mean that in the nicest of all possible ways.

Here goes!

Fifth sentence: But railing isn’t healing.

Sixth, seventh, eighth: Healing is another story. The first step in healing is telling the truth. When you tell the truth, you acknowledge your losses.

This is from When Food is Love, by Geneen Roth. It’s the book I grabbed off the bookshelf next to the desk where I am typing this. I’m not currently reading it, but I have read it, and it really spoke to me. These sentences are really exposition sentences – she hasn’t even gotten into the meat of what she has to say on this page – that comes a paragraph or two later. As someone who has “issues” with food, I highly recommend it to anyone else who has them.

One response to “Page 123

  1. Ooh, nice one. I normally don’t tag people for memes, but this is a nice short one. It also guarantees at least 5 people read me that day. (Smirk)
    I have been known to jump around yelling, “The new phone books are here! The new phone books are here!” when something fun happens. I know, I need help.

Leave a Reply

