When getting caught up in someone else’s excitement turns into real life

Our friends just got a new puppy last Friday. He is adorable.

I have spent the last 5 days researching puppies of my desired breed online. I have nearly convinced myself I want one.

It was only two weeks ago when I remarked to the mom across the street, also a single mom, that I didn’t know how she handled her three kids, two cats and a dog, as I was barely holding on myself.

Joey, our chinchilla, is just not a satisfying pet. He’s low maintenance, but he’s low reward too. I’m starting to wonder what the heck the point is.

My “first child” was a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel I sort of inherited when a relationship ended. He was the best. Dog. Ever. I know everyone says that about their dog, but he even won over professed dog haters. My step-mother often said he would be the perfect dog if only he didn’t shed (she and my dad called him their granddog). I’m pretty sure he was really some sort of mutt, but his looks and personality were textbook Cavalier.

Well, in today’s age of designer breeds, they do make a Cavalier that doesn’t shed! The breed I’ve been focusing on primarily is the Cavachon which is a cross with a Bichon Frise. I’ve also seen Cavapoo (cross with poodle) and Cavanese (cross with Havanese). Given the allergies we deal with, a “hypoallergenic” dog is a necessity.

Of course as soon as the girls got wind that I was even thinking about this, they have been all over me. I said a few months ago I’d think about it when Belle starts first grade, which is in two more years. But I find myself thinking more and more about it now. And yet, I can’t help thinking that I’m really just getting caught up in our friend’s excitement and that the novelty would wear off soon. Like it has with Joey.

Except a dog can give so much more.

I either need the sense knocked in or out of me. Any takers?

6 responses to “When getting caught up in someone else’s excitement turns into real life

  1. Despite having owned dogs most of my life, I am not a dog person. Our Molly McSpaniel, an epileptic springer, lived a long, happy life, but we will probably never own another dog. Cats, on the other hand, are the love of my life. We just adopted two sister kittens and they are a constant source of wonder and amusement. And they don’t have to be walked! Too bad they haven’t designed a hypoallergenic kitty yet.

  2. It’s funny you say that. Although that dog was truly special to me, and was my “favorite” pet (I also had a cat at the time), I’m really more of a cat person too. Dogs are just so darned high maintenance! 🙂 And it turns out there actually are hypoallergenic cats – Siberians. I’ve been looking into those as well but there are 2 detractors to that for me: they are SUPER expensive, and I can’t stand litter boxes. When I was a teenager we adopted brother/sister kittens and like you said, it was so much fun to watch them play together. I’d love to adopt two kittens together.

  3. I have always wanted a Cavalier………..I think they are the cutest, sweetest tempered dogs ever! My concern would be their propensity toward health problems (at least that I’ve read about). I think a Cavachon sounds wonderful. Our dogs have grown up with our children and they are best friends. They are high maintenance though—especially puppies. In your situation, I might consider getting an adult dog, although it would have to be well-trained. Our Marlon was 2 when we got him and was NOT well-trained and he is still a PITA. A loveable PITA, but still not well-trained!

    Marcia

  4. That’s too weird — I responded to this twice and both times it got lost??? This is just a test to see if a short comment goes through.

  5. Pingback: This goes out to Ragtop Day and any else wondering about dogs « life in the minivan lane

  6. I didn’t have dogs until I had my own house. I love them. Training a puppy is a GREAT BIG PAIN IN THE BUTT. And be prepared to wipe up a lot of pee and poop. Scott crate trains his dogs. Usually, a dog will not soil his bed. Of course, Strider, had to be different. We took him out constantly and he’d pee a little then wait until he got back in his cage for the full pee experience. For awhile he peed in his water dish. Then he started peeing through the side of the crate. The side next to the wall. Fortunately this was before Scott and I got married, so he didn’t ruin the new house. And he’s fine now. It just took awhile.

    However, training an adult dog is harder because you’ve got to unlearn all their previous bad habits.

    Geez, that sounds like I don’t like dogs. I LOVE our dogs. Once they’re trained they’re great. And the non-shedding kind sounds great. Those cross-breeds are stronger anyway and less prone to the bizarre inbreeding diseases that occur now.

Leave a Reply

