Rock the Vote

If you’re eligible to vote in the US, I hope you exercised that right today! I did!

I deliberately chose not to vote first thing this morning, figuring the lines would be long with the before work crowd. Around noon a pollster came to the door wanting to make sure I was going to vote, and she said I should plan to bring entertainment, as she’d heard the lines were an hour long.

On the way to the school to vote Krystal and I had this conversation:

Krystal: Can I vote too?

Me: [Silence, because she answered her own question right away]

Krystal: I know, you have to be 18 to vote. And 21 to be President.

Me: Actually you have to be 35 to be President.

Krystal: Oh yeah, 21 is for drinking.

Me: [More silence. My pride made me speechless]

So we got there about 2 pm to vote – we walked into a gymnasium full of polling place workers, but only a handful of voters. I felt on display as we approached the table to check in!

We got our ballot and Krystal picked our booth with the red, white and blue curtains for privacy. I proudly filled in the circle next to my candidates of choice, then collected our “I Voted” stickers as I fed my ballot into the collector on the way out. Total time elapsed: 5 minutes (give or take).

We keep hearing how historic this election is. Make sure you have your say. We should find out in a few hours which new leader we will look to for the next four years. Win or lose, it’s important for you to make sure your voice is heard.

Rock the Vote!

One response to “Rock the Vote

  1. Ooh, we got fudge rather than “I Voted” stickers. But I didn’t have a line either. I didn’t really expect one, but I allowed for it anyway. So then I sat in the car waiting for time for gymnastics to start and read the mail.

Leave a Reply

