Who’s Cooking This Year?

Holidays of my childhood were always spent at my grandmother’s. All my cousins were there and we always had the full spread: turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, turnip, rolls, green beans, cranberry relish and pies of multiple denominations. As far as I know, my grandmother did all the work. Although it’s certainly possible my aunts and my mother helped. Certainly not my father or uncles, because cooking is woman’s work. <ahem>

My grandmother has been gone for 12 years, and was in no position to host a meal for at least 10 years before that. And we cousins grew up and were off with friends, or spouse’s families, or working or just not available consistently.

So now that I’m an adult, and a parent at that, I’m stuck with figuring out how to handle this tradition known as holiday cooking!

As with make-up and shoes, I seem to have missed the gene that controls creativity surrounding holiday meals. My poor children. I hate to see the amount of money, preparation, cooking and clean-up time and effort that goes into a meal that takes 15 minutes to eat. Sure, I know it’s not all about the food. It’s as much, or more, really, about creating and passing down a tradition, spending time with those you love and basking in the glow of the holiday. Except why is it that the women get stuck in that glow while the men get to watch football or drink beers on the porch? Not that I want to drink beers on the porch, but I think you get my point. And if it’s different in your family, hallelujah!

My step-sister is hosting Thanksgiving this year. We haven’t formally RSVP’d yet, but we may have to, just so I can bring a side dish or dessert and be done with it. And my children can bask in the love of our extended family, including cousins their age, which will be much more enjoyable and memorable for them than watching me stress out at home trying to put on a huge meal for just the three of us, which sounds pretty darn sad to me.

This post was written for Parent Bloggers Network as part of a sweepstakes sponsored by Butterball.

4 responses to “Who’s Cooking This Year?

  1. We don’t do Thanksgiving on this side of the pond, but there’s the Christmas dinner to consider. It was a much smaller affair at home in Greece (fewer trimmings), and here in the UK it’s husband who takes control. He’s the finicky one; I’m happy if what I have before me is not burnt.

  2. I miss Thanksgiving with DH’s family. We haven’t had anyone but us since we’ve lived in Virginia for the past several years. And this year it will be just 4 of us, since DD2 is in Ecuador.

  3. Pingback: Let’s Hear Your Turkey Talk: Butterball’s Blast Begins Today | The Parent Bloggers Network

  4. Generally the Mountain Man’s sister hosts. Her husband (Da Wizard actually) does the turkey and we all bring something. I usually do the traditional green bean casserole and my grandmother’s sage dressing (NEVER in the turkey!). Last year we did Thanksgiving at home, and it was a tremendous amount of cooking and leftovers for essentially 2 people, since neither kid would eat ANY of it. I think we’re heading to Oak Ridge again this year. The traveling is a pain, but not nearly as much of a pain as all the cooking and cleanup. And the Queen has requested a BIG Turkey. THe Mountain Man is vegetarian. I do not know how to cook a big turkey. Someone else has ALWAYS taken care of that!

Leave a Reply

