I Don’t Want to Grow Up

Today’s 3x Thursday questions all have to do with growing up:

1. What did you want to be when you were a kid?

Career-wise, I always wanted to be a veterinarian. I was the neighborhood pet sitter – anytime anyone went away I was the one they called to take care of cats, dogs, fish, ducks and chickens. No horses or cows though – it wasn’t that rural! James Herriot was my hero.

2. What did you grow up to be? Are you happy with that choice?

I’ve held lots of different jobs in my adult life which have ranged from serving in the US Armed forces, courier for a well-known purple and orange express delivery company, and later a manager with them, human resources, office manager, call center tech support, quality assurance, and various project and technical positions. While none of these were what I dreamed of as a child, most of them have been satisfactory. Krystal asked me just this morning if I liked my job. The truth is that the work I do everyday is not particularly exciting, but the environment I work in is perfect for my needs right now. I make a relatively decent living and have the flexibility I need to stay sane as the sole parent to two young children (and a dog!).

3. If you could choose any job for the next 30 years, what would it be? Why?

I sorta answered this in a previous post – but if I could choose any job, I’d like to be a writer. I’d like to have the autonomy I imagine a writer has, the flexibility to work where and when it suited me. I would enjoy traveling to different places to learn about them, and interviewing people in interesting (to me) or unique professions to help me flesh out a story. But if I’m doing it for the next 30 years it had better be financially lucrative!

I can remember as a child watching my mother go off to work everyday, coming home to make us dinner, and then doing the same thing all over again the next day. And the next. And it seemed very depressing to me, even as a ten year old. The truth is that I don’t think all that many of us work in a profession we dreamed of as children, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t lots of satisfying, even rewarding, jobs that a kid would never think about. Or they may not even exist yet for our children! The Internet didn’t exist when I was a kid, yet my work is pretty well entrenched in it today.

Want to take a stab at answering these questions? What do you think your kids would think of your career choice? What do they want to be now? (Krystal wants to be an artist or a singer, and Belle wants to be a cashier.)

2 responses to “I Don’t Want to Grow Up

  1. The Queen wants to be a teacher and a builder. DeBoy hasn’t expressed an interest. I haven’t even attempted to explain to them the many things I used to do for a living, except for the brief time I taught college.

  2. Isn’t it amazing how we sometimes get so busy with the everyday stuff that we don’t really take time to consider our goals, even if they were made as a child.
    I’m glad you have a job that you can remain mostly satisfied with for the time being, and I certainly hope you can attain your main goal of writing at some point in time. Or at the very least, I hope that you someday give it a try!

Leave a Reply

