Going to the Dogs

First off, HAPPY THANKSGIVING to all!

Since adding Tessie, our little Cockapoo, to our family in September, I have not been able to get the idea of getting another dog out of my head.

My “first child” was a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel mix (not sure what he was mixed with, but I can tell you that his personality fit the breed standard to a T). It’s the breed I think of every time I think about a dog. I have scoured the web for rescue organizations specializing in Cavaliers, and even emailed the Northeast coordinator of what seems to be the main rescue group and volunteered to be a foster family. She wrote back to say we would not be considered a fit since for “liability reasons” they require no children under 5 in the foster home. I wrote back to ask for clarification on that since Belle will be 5 in February, but it is now a month later and no response. I guess they aren’t hurting for foster homes.

I downloaded the adoption application form from another rescue group but haven’t sent it in yet.

And I look at least 2-3 times a week at the rescues and updates on them at another rescue group’s web site.

I’m now thinking I should wait till at least spring to get serious. Tessie will be a year old in July, and both my kids will be 5 or over (but not over 5!). And spring/summer will be an easier transition to bring a dog into the family. And then of course the whole reason we didn’t get a Cavalier in the first place, which is that both my kids have allergies of sorts (eczema in one, asthma in the other) and I wanted a low/non shed dog (like Obama!) which Cavaliers are not. So I don’t know.

At any rate, I’m thankful for my healthy and beautiful children, our sweet dog, my job, and all my friends and family. And you dear readers!

3 responses to “Going to the Dogs

  1. One of the attorneys on our floor just bought a King Cav puppy and brings him to work everyday. Ohmygosh, he is the most affectionate and sweet dogs I have ever met. She opens the door at the top of the stairs and he runs into my office, trailing his leash, for morning kisses. Then he runs into her office and into his crate. My boss is usually in when he wakes up from his morning nap and she gets her round of doggie love. Good luck finding the right pup. More importantly, happy thanksgiving to you and yours.

  2. One of the attorneys on our floor just bought a King Cav puppy and brings him to work everyday. Ohmygosh, he is one of the most affectionate and sweet dogs I have ever met. She opens the door at the top of the stairs and he runs into my office, trailing his leash, for morning kisses. Then he runs into her office and into his crate. My boss is usually in when he wakes up from his morning nap and she gets her round of doggie love. Good luck finding the right pup. More importantly, happy thanksgiving to you and yours.

  3. I think waiting until spring is wise. You really don’t want to potty train a potty in the dead of winter. Trust me on this. I did it. It’s not fun.
    And a VERY belated Happy Thanksgiving to you and all three of your girls.

Leave a Reply

