What’s Missing?

Isn’t it funny how if you’ve never tasted chocolate, you don’t miss it? Or once you click with someone at work, it just doesn’t feel the same on the days he or she is out?

I had a dog for many years – I’ve referred to him often as my first child. He passed away just three weeks before I became a mom to a human child, which kept me pretty busy, and I didn’t have time to miss him once that happened. In fact, there have been many times when I’ve been thankful not to have a dog: when the weather is bad, when we have such a busy day we’re just not home, when we can get up and go at the drop of a hat.

Regular readers of this blog know we added a dog, Tessie, to our family in September. I’ve had to readjust lots of things in our routine, both large and small. The biggest thing is that I have not put in a full day in the office since she came to us, but smaller things are getting up in the middle of the night (most nights) to take her out, working on training items, reminding children to be gentle and planning our weekends so we’re home enough to let her out, as well as providing human contact for her. Some of it has been easy and some of it hard, but it’s all part of owning a dog.

This morning we dropped Tessie off at the vet to get spayed. She will spend the night there, and we’ll pick her up by noon tomorrow. I then dropped both kids off at their respective schools, and came home to work. It is eerily quiet in this house. I’m looking forward to getting a full night’s sleep tonight, but I already miss something I didn’t even have a few months ago.

One response to “What’s Missing?

  1. It’s interesting, isn’t it? For the first few days after we go on vacation or something, I don’t really miss the animals, but that doesn’t last more than a couple of days. (When there are 8 of them, the break is a bit more of a relief!)
    I’m the same way with Coca-Cola. If I can manage about a week without any, I don’t miss it. But as soon as I have a glass, I want it every day. (Makes you wonder if they don’t still put cocaine in it, doesn’t it?)

Leave a Reply

