Meet my dog, the escape artist

I posted back in October about the small fenced in area my friend and I created for Tessie. It has been working great. It is so nice to be able to open that sliding glass door and let her go, do her thing, and come back in. Sure, she plays games with it during dinner (out, in, out, in, out…..in), but without it I’d have to be putting a leash on her everytime and taking her out. In the snow. Many, many times per day (she’s still a puppy, after all).  The fence was a spur of the moment thing and not in the plan when we got her, but it is the best thing I’ve done with respect to her. Aside from the bells. So awesome.

But yesterday I was working at home, and as is usual, Tessie asked to go out, and in, and out several times in the course of an hour or so. Just because it’s fun, and not because she has to actually pee that much. I was very busy with work and realized after a rather long stretch that Tessie hadn’t asked to come inside after going out the last time.

So I went to look for her.

And she was not in that little fenced in area.

YIKES!

I called her and fortunately, heard her dog tags jingling on her collar. I was able to get her to come to me (“come” is not a command she has mastered) by using a super-excited tone.

I suspected that she had climbed on a mini-snowbank on the deck and jumped over it onto the open yard, so I got a shovel and got rid of most of that snow pile. Which was made possible by some rare warmer weather. Phew, problem solved.

Except it wasn’t. The next time she went out, a scant 10 minutes or so later, she was gone again. And not via the snowbank.

I poked around the “chicken wire” running under the deck, and found an area that she had dug out at the bottom to scoot out by running under the deck into the yard. Hmmm, what to do about this?

I have 4-5 cinder blocks under the deck, left there by the previous owners, so I drug one out and put it in front of the part of the “chicken wire” and breathed a sigh of relief. All’s well, right?

Well, today work was even busier, and I was on a phone meeting when Tessie was outside this afternoon. I peeked out at one point during the meeting and she was missing. Again. All is not right! Cue pulling hair out!

When my meeting was over I went out with her and stood and watched for a bit. And that brazen hussy went right over to that cinder block and started to crawl right through the holes! I could not believe it. (These are not standard cinder blocks – the blocks and holes are slightly bigger than the usual kind.)

I did two things next. One, I got a towel and wrapped it around the cinder block to cover the holes, which I know is a temporary fix, at best. And two, I called the local Dogwatch franchise to see about getting a system installed. I had been thinking about it anyway. When the weather is nicer we’ll be outside a lot, and not hanging out in that (poopy) fenced in area, and she will not be happy if she can’t be with us. Still, it’s quite pricey.

Meanwhile, I am thinking of changing Tessie’s name to Houdini. Or Copperfield.

2 responses to “Meet my dog, the escape artist

  1. I had a dalmatian who could escape everything. When we moved up here we put in an underground electric fence. It contained them for awhile, and the big dog still respects it, but the other 2 figured out that if they ran through it REALLY REALLY FAST it only hurts for a second. I don’t know what brand ours is, but Dogwatch doesn’t sound familiar. The bigger problem is that it doesn’t keep other dogs out. Our dogs are popular and have lots of company. Loud company.

  2. LOL
    oh boy, I wish I had some advice, but alas, we’ve never had that problem. I hope you can figure something out :o)

Leave a Reply

