Happy Birthday to Me

Today is my birthday! I turned 46 just after lunch. Eeek! I’m on the downhill slide to 50 now.  (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.)

The girls drew this in the driveway for me yesterday – it rained on it overnight before I had a chance to take a photo,  so the colors aren’t as bright – hope you can still read it:

100_2110

(Happy B-day Mom)

Yesterday a dear friend I haven’t seen in ages called and suggested we get togther today. I happily accepted, and the girls and I met him for a too short lunch. Although he only lives about a half hour away, we haven’t seen each other in nearly 2 years, and even that visit was short. He is married with adult children and I’m single with young children. We don’t exactly travel in the same time zone. His birthday was a month ago (a month and 4 days, if you want to get technical, which Krystal insisted on), and as I was sending him his card I had to add a P.S. since he turned the big 6-0. Seems inconceivable. And yet, whatever sixty is supposed to look like, he doesn’t. It was a delightful gift, catching up with an old friend. I love friends who you can go so long without seeing, but when you do, you pick up right where you left off.

After lunch the girls and I headed to a roller skating event – not my first choice of things to do on my birthday, but it’s the day the group we belong to was doing it, and I knew it would make the girls happy. Krystal is a real athlete and zoomed around the rink. Belle, on the other hand, had a lot of trouble getting her skate-legs, but didn’t mind sitting out a lot. Krystal even volunteered to help teach her at one point, giving me a break, which Belle actually accepted.100_2101

100_2103

100_2108

And here is a family photo taken just before we left this venue to get some ice cream. Still not sure if that was for me or the kids:

100_2100

4 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me

  1. Happy birthday to you,
    Happy birthday to you,
    Happy birthday, dear Ragtop,
    Happy birthday to you.
    And many more….

  2. yay, looks like fun was had by all!
    Happy Belated Birthday!

  3. What a fun time. Ice cream is a birthday requirement. As to your downhill slide to 50, don’t run into me, because I’m out in front.

  4. Happy Birthday! Looks like a swell thing to do on your birthday, even if wasn’t your first choice. And you got ice cream. Not too shabby.

Leave a Reply

