Relief

Yesterday United States citizens had the opportunity to vote in a presidential election. The sheer act of casting my vote fills me with pride.

I’m not political. And by that I mean, I don’t talk politics often. I don’t express my views directly without prompting and I don’t like to kick up any dust with people who disagree with me politically.

But I am here to tell you this morning that I am full of RELIEF and even a teensy bit of excitement that President Obama has won a second term.

Relief because it was a close one, as we all knew it would be. Relief because Mitt Romney scares the bejesus out of me. In fact, today’s Republicans seem to be so far to the right, so far backwards, that I wonder what someone like Ronald Reagan (a Republican I admire) would think. I said several times during the lead up that if you are a woman, or you love a woman (mother, sister, wife, daughter, friend), you have no business voting for Romney. I can’t believe so many people couldn’t see that.

And the soupcon of excitement is because I really do think presidents have more leeway in their second term. I think we are on the cusp of great things. At least I hope we are, and that’s almost the same thing.

Leave a Reply

